Drive OP - Co-Pilot Resource

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

Drive OP - Co-Pilot Resource

Postby vitoga » Sun Jan 07, 2018 8:30 pm

The Timing section of the new rulebook, on page 21, states that
Unless otherwise specified, effects, abilities, etc that specify a phase, step or time to activate in can only activate at the beginning of the specified phase, step or time when any other effect could be activated.


We know that the timing rules do not apply to reactionary type cards/abilities.

We also know that the Captain Skills can only change between phases.

Since co-Pilot can only be used "during the Combat Phase" then how does co-pilot resolve the issue with option 1 of the card text "Add +3 to your Captain Skill Number" would that mean that the Captain Skill is changed for the End Phase?

Also if option 2 "Re-roll one of your attack or defense dice" is reactionary then how will it resolve?

Is Co-pilot a resource that can happen at any time during the Combat Phase to achieve the results that the card means to achieve or does each option happen at different times during the combat phase with option 1 becoming unusable?


--------
Co-Pilot
At the start of the game, place 5 Mission Tokens on this card.
Once per round, during the Combat Phase, you may remove one Mission Token from this card to use one of the following abilities for one of your ships.


1. Add +3 to your Captain Skill Number.

2. Re-roll one of your attack or defense dice.

3. Place an [EVADE] or a [BATTLESTATION] Token beside your ship.

Remove this card from the game when there are no Mission Tokens left on this card.

---------------------------
vitoga
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 6:56 pm

Re: Drive OP - Co-Pilot Resource

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Mar 01, 2018 2:04 am

We are issuing errata for Co-Pilot to clarify its interactions:

At the start of the game, place 5 Mission Tokens on this card.

Once per game round, you may remove one Mission Token (at the appropriate time) from this card to use one of the following abilities for one of your ships.

1. Beginning of the Activation Phase, Add 3 to the Captain Skill of the Captain equipped to this ship this game round..
2. During the Modify Attack Dice Step or Modify Defense Dice Step, re-roll one of your attack or defense dice.
3. Beginning of the Activation Phase, Place an [EVADE] or a [BATTLE STATIONS] Token beside this ship.

Remove this card from the game when there are no Mission Tokens left on this card.
(This should be added to the FAQ)"
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Drive OP - Co-Pilot Resource

Postby drnicket » Thu Mar 01, 2018 4:57 pm

1. Did you mean beginning or end of Activation Phase?
If end, then it works as I believe it was intended. If beginning, it changes drastically.
User avatar
drnicket
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:44 pm

Re: Drive OP - Co-Pilot Resource

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Mar 01, 2018 6:29 pm

It still works as intended because Captain Skill only changes between phases. This means that the Captain Skill would not change until after the Activation Phase.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Drive OP - Co-Pilot Resource

Postby momerg » Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:53 am

stawrulesteam wrote:It still works as intended because Captain Skill only changes between phases. This means that the Captain Skill would not change until after the Activation Phase.

I'm a little confused about this statement, does it only apply specifically to Co-Pilot resource or is it at any time a Captain Skill is changed it only takes effect between phases?

If Captain Skills only change between phases, how will it affect cards such as Elim Garak?
At the beginning of the Combat Phase, you may disable this card to add +2 to your captain skill Number until the End Phase. OR During the Combat Phase, you may discard this card to select up to 3 of your attack or defense dice and re-roll them

Thank you for your reply.
momerg
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 3:54 pm

Re: Drive OP - Co-Pilot Resource

Postby stawrulesteam » Fri Apr 06, 2018 3:44 pm

Captain skill and order of attack/activation is set at the beginning Phase. Cards that effect CS at the beginning of a phase would influence this. Conversely, if an effect changes CS after the start of the phase, that change only occurs after the end of that phase.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests