U.S.S. Grissom and Cheat Death

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

U.S.S. Grissom and Cheat Death

Postby vitoga » Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:27 am

If the USS Grissom "dies" or "is destroyed" does the text on the USS Grissom activate before Cheat Death activates?
I read it as the Grissom stating "when this ship would be destroyed" which means that the Grissom text activates immediately and then Cheat Death activates "If your ship was just destroyed" meaning after the ship is destroyed.


The USS Grissom text states
Code: Select all
[b]WHEN THIS SHIP WOULD BE DESTROYED:[/b]  The attacking ship must discard one [CREW] Upgrade. If it can't, place an [AUXILIARY] Token beside it .


Cheat Death states
Code: Select all
If your ship was just destroyed, discard this card to remove Damage cards 1 at a time from your Ship Card until the amount of damage is 1 point less than your Hull Value.  Flip all remaining Damage Cards face down.
vitoga
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 6:56 pm

Re: U.S.S. Grissom and Cheat Death

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:01 pm

"Would be destroyed" precedes "was just destroyed" so the ability of the USS Grissom would precede the ability of Cheat Death.

Ultimately, if these two things happened simultaneously, you could achieve the same result because it would be up to the player to choose the order in which they resolved.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 814
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests